Several zillion dollars went into the building of this ship.
It was "GREEN"!!!! So it was wonderful!!! Until it was not.
It’s been a crappy week for the largest warship ever built.
A raging fire in its laundry facilities and persistently clogged toilets have taken the $13 billion USS Ford aircraft carrier out of the Iran fight — and it could remain out of service for a year....
The time-honored 'take a dump over the railing' method is a no-no? Yes, yes. It's a co-ed Navy now.
So......
... The ship’s high-tech sanitation system has had problems since at least 2020, with routine clogs, pricey fixes, and a green design that has caused repeat maintenance problems costing at least $4 million.
“Those eco-friendly toilets are not pressurized in the same way — they don’t flush through,” naval expert Steve Wills told The Post.
The issues stem from its vacuum collection, holding and transfer (VCHT) system, borrowed from the cruise ship industry.
A General Accountability Office report from 2020 found it required “onerous” extra day-to-day maintenance to clean its narrow pipes, with each “acid flush” costing $400,000....
Here's a sanguine observation:
... “Prioritizing environmentally-friendly systems over combat effectiveness is a big mistake,” said Bill Roggio, a senior fellow for the Foundation for Defense of Democracies....
Yah. We know several 10-year-olds who could come to the same conclusion. Too bad the US Navy has "experts" and "really smart" Kolleege Grads purchasing fuc***g toilets, eh?
Then there's this:
...The vessel’s commanding officer, Capt. David Skarosi, said in February that some clogs “are the result of items being flushed that should not be introduced into the system” — raising the prospect that the crew’s action are partly to blame.
“It only takes one pissed off, angry sailor to potentially cause trouble,” he added, without accusing anyone of outright sabotage....
Or a couple of sanitary pads, Captain? Was Tampon Tim on board?
Go back to the sure-fire method: over the rail. It's common sense. But then, what does "common sense" have to do with anything these days?
1 comment:
Over the rail?
What a great photo op……
Post a Comment